American Style: Copland, Stephenson & Bernstein

Saturday November 2 2024 7:30 pm

Peter Rubardt

Guest Artist

Jim Stephenson, Composer
Elissa Lee Koljonen, Violin

Run Time120 Minutes

Saenger Theatre

About the Performance

Join us for an exploration of the American music tradition, featuring Appalachian Spring from the “Dean of American Composers” Aaron Copland. With its open and pioneering depiction of the American idyll, Appalachian Spring is beloved for its folk melodies, including the Shaker tune “Simple Gifts.” The program also features the return of violinist Elissa Lee Koljonen for Leonard Bernstein’s Serenade (after Plato’s Symposium), and contemporary composer Jim Stephenson joins us from the stage to discuss his Second Symphony, “Voices,” written in memory of his mother.

Aaron Copland

Appalachian Spring

Jim Stephenson

Symphony No. 2, “Voices”

Leonard Bernstein

Serenade (after Plato’s Symposium)

This concert is currently available as part of a 2024-2025 subscription.

Single tickets will be available on Friday September 6, 2024

Buy Tickets

Choose your seating section and quantity


Grand Tier



* For groups of 10 or more, please contact or call 850-435-2533 ext.100.

* Customers may only purchase one ticket for concerts with low availability.

Subscribe & Save Up to 50%

Whether you subscribe to our Super Series, Masterworks or Pops, you’ll get the best prices, premium seating, free exchanges and access to special events.

Performance Agenda

Saenger and House Doors Open

Concert Begins